For anyone who loves the gothic and Victorian novels, inspired by tales of vampires, scary stories, supernatural, paranormal, ghost, horror and the unexplained.

Members: 51
Latest Activity: Apr 17


From windswept moors and lowering skies to crumbling castles and madwomen in the attic, there is much to draw upon when writing Gothic fiction. There are three key factors to consider before writing and plotting your Gothic tale: setting, character and the influence of the supernatural. Many modern writers, such as Margaret Atwood and Susan Hill, use Gothic elements in their novels, inspired by its rich heritage.

Discussion Forum

Happy to join the gothic family. I am a fan and a writer of gothic fiction

Halloween Haunts....any ideas???Continue

Started by Mary Jade Monroe May 16, 2014.

Want to participate in an Character Interview?

If you would like to have me "interview" a character in one of your books, email me: I will post the interview on my blog.Continue

Started by Diana Persaud Feb 7, 2014.

Author and Reviewers Group

I recently joined a FB group called Authors and Reviewers.As you may have ascertained, it's a group meant to connect authors with reviewers.New members are always welcome.I read  Mr. Bonejangles…Continue

Started by Diana Persaud Feb 1, 2014.

Comment Wall


You need to be a member of BLOOD ROSES GOTHIC TALES & REVIEWS to add comments!

Comment by aparajita basu on April 17, 2015 at 2:43pm

Absolutely Book-alicious Tours: Schedule a book tour for your book with us!

Authors, Publishers, Agents have a YA book that need an audience or simply because you need some reviews, then "Absolutely Book-alicious Tours" is your one stop virtual book tour organization. And we take good care to to keep both parties happy and help you achieve the results you desire.

Check out our services through here -

And if they meet your expectations, then don't hesitate to call on us. We are always happy to help.

Comment by aparajita basu on October 13, 2014 at 1:30am

Le' Grande Codex - 3rd Blogoversary & Birthday Giveaway [INT, US & INDIA only]

Win goodies courtesy Michelle Madow, Gennifer Albin and Marissa Meyer. 5 copies of Thirteen by Tom Hoyle. The Cuckoo Calling & The Silkworm by#RobertGalbraith (J.K. Rowling) and an extensive selection of ebooks.

Comment by James Vernon Davis on September 29, 2014 at 9:37pm

Comment by James Vernon Davis on September 29, 2014 at 9:29pm

My books The Deception and Sins of the Father are now exclusives and they have been reduced to $2.99. Also, I found out you don't need a Kindle to read it. And it's part of Amazon's Unlimited Program. I'm looking for people to read and review my work in order to get feedback.

Comment by James Vernon Davis on September 21, 2014 at 10:08pm

Also check out my first novel The Deception on Amazon, Barnes and Nobles, and Kobo.

The book chronicles the lives of six male teenagers at Moore’s Behavioral Center in Belleville, IL. Unbeknownst to them, they fall victim to every form of abuse from four guards, two counselors, and two bullies. A mysterious voice guides the two main characters Peter Williams and Justin Reed.

After a year and a half five of the six boys make a break for it and head up to Springfield, IL. These boys must survive the harsh realities of living on the streets for a couple of years doing things they never thought possible, but the mysterious voice continues to instruct the two main characters.

After living on the streets for a couple of years, the two main characters are able to rent an apartment and work odd jobs to pay their bills. When they turn 21 they plan to kidnap and murder those who abused them at the behavioral center. The boys meet Sam, one of the six teenagers from the center, who informs them the state came in and cleaned house after they escaped. He warns them not to commit murder but to join his group of men planning on reporting the abusers to the police.

Peter and Justin realize their mysterious friend deceived them. Now they must decide whether or not to keep to their original plans or join the group of boys going to the police. Should the boys indulge in fantasies of revenge or face the truth of what they endured?

Comment by James Vernon Davis on September 21, 2014 at 10:05pm

My second novel is out for sale and it's called Sins of the Father. It's available as an e-book on, Barnes and, and Here's the synopsis:

In November 1692 Edward Parrish was tried for sorcery by the local prosecutor. His conviction was the byproduct of testimony given by two male Puritan witnesses. He was sentenced to death by three male judges. On the day of his sentencing, he placed a curse on the descendants of the six men who sealed his fate. What the towns’ people didn’t know was he had cursed a man on the way to the courthouse.

In 2013 in Hell, Lucifer develops a deadly scheme to destroy the lives of the descendants of the Puritans with the seven deadly sins. Each sin has a specific demon attached to it and Lucifer calls them up individually to do his and Edward’s bidding. Lucifer and the six demons enter into seven wooden soldiers. They are sent out to the seven families to wreak havoc on the unsuspecting souls of the descendants. Two detectives are assigned to the case and they scramble to solve the case before it’s too late.


Comment by Shalu Sharma on May 10, 2014 at 10:12am

Thanks for the invite. This book of mine is free on the 10 and 11 of May, feel free to download and leave a review. Best wishes.

Comment by aparajita basu on March 29, 2014 at 11:58am


Tourz De Codex, the virtual book tour program has slots open for scheduling book tours, trailer release events, cover release events and many more and promises to use their best of the best methods available to garner an audience for the respective book..


Comment by LadyBug on March 11, 2014 at 8:48am

Need help?





At NetGalley, we like to take a moment at Thanksgiving to thank you for your loyalty and support. We are grateful to have a dedicated community of Book Advocates who love reading and recommending – you truly help new books succeed! By the end of this year, your enthusiasm for reading & recommending will mean […]

Blogger Spotlight – Romance Edition

Blog name: Straight Shootin’ Book Reviews Blog URL: http://www.straightshootinbookreviews.comYour name: Mandy – Str8shooterMLet’s begin with your blogger origin story - how long have you been blogging about books and why did you start?I’ve been blogging for almost two and a half years, which is really hard to believe. It all started in March of 2012 […]

Cover Love – November Edition

November Edition We’ve rounded up five covers we love, and we hope you will too. We’ve also gathered all of your cover votes from this month, and your most loved cover is… THE PASSENGER by Lisa Lutz! Click on each cover to read the full description, request the title, and “Like” the cover if you […]

© 2015   Created by Tarah Theoret.   Powered by

Badges  |  Report an Issue  |  Terms of Service