Review of Fantasy/Paranormal Books

Information

Review of Fantasy/Paranormal Books

Website: http://www.aoifemariesheridan.com
Members: 8
Latest Activity: Aug 13, 2013

Review of the Healing Heart


Review of The Healing heart by Jennifer Howard.

 

(4th Review for April)

www.reviewoffantasy.com

 

Rating 4 stars

 

Lightening can strike twice.

The healing heart, what a beautiful and gentle story. The story is told through the eyes of Jamie a young mother of a teenage girl who lost the love of her life Paul (her husband) who adored her, she had a blissful and happy marriage. For two years she has struggled through life without him and raised their only daughter, until she meets Conley a man who she feels a pull towards straight away.

 

The love story that unravels between Conley and Jamie isn’t heart pounding and electrifying. It’s real, with nerves, respect and excitement. It was so beautiful to read and I smiled so much through this book. It’s fresh and a real feel good story.

The humour in it also had me laughing from Jamie’s little quirks to Conley’s quick comebacks. All in all if you want to brighten up your day then read the healing heart it will teach you that Lightening can strike twice.

 

 

Discussion Forum

Review of Fractured

Review of Fractured(2nd Review…Continue

Started by Aoife Marie Sheridan May 24, 2013.

Review of Piercing the Fold

Review of Piercing the Fold(First review for May)Rating 3.5 Stars www.reviewoffantasy.comI was given this book by the author for an honest review.The…Continue

Tags: fiction, science, fantasy, review

Started by Aoife Marie Sheridan May 17, 2013.

Review of MER by Jade M. Phillips

Review of MER by Jade M. Phillips Rating 5 starwww.reviewoffantasy.com I was given a free copy of MER for an honest review.Firstly I must compliment the…Continue

Started by Aoife Marie Sheridan Apr 29, 2013.

First three fantasy reviews

Okay I have my first three books to review:Storm Dancer by Rayne Hall Goodreads authorThe Call of Agon by Dean F. Wilson Goodreads authorAcross Time by Jeff Fuell Goodreads authorIf anyone else would…Continue

Started by Aoife Marie Sheridan Mar 4, 2013.

Comment Wall

Comment

You need to be a member of Review of Fantasy/Paranormal Books to add comments!


Author
Comment by Ronald Griffin on August 13, 2013 at 4:05pm

Hello everyone I am new to this site and looking for followers. If you follow me I will follow you :D  http://ronaldgriffin.blogspot.com/ also follow my page here as well. 


Author
Comment by Aoife Marie Sheridan on April 24, 2013 at 1:09pm

The Farm by Emily McKay

Review of the Farm by Emily McKay

 

(5th Review for April)

www.reviewoffantasy.com

 

Rating 5 stars

I just loved loved this story. It had me on the edge of my seat the whole way through and I was so disappointed when it was over, Can’t wait to read the second part.

 

The story starts on a farm with Lily and Mel who are twins, only Mel has autism and Lily is her only way to survive. The farm is meant to be a safe haven from the ticks outside the fence, that come out at night to feed but more sinister things are happening inside the farm, it’s a breeding ground and a blood bank for the ticks.

When Lily decides to escape taking her sister Mel with her all fails as Carter a guy from the before comes into her life igniting a crush, like wild fire. Carter becomes her protector and helps her off the farm. Lily is suspicious and headstrong at first but soon reasons with Carter and leaves only to realise he didn’t come for her because he likes her, she is humanities only hope for survival and Carter needs her to help with his rebellion.

 

I loved Lily she is intelligent, smart mouthed and would throw down her life for her sister. Her strength and courage throughout the book kept me  backing her every decision  that she makes even when it’s one of those “don’t go down the dark alley alone” and she does and I rooted for her each time. I loved that I could also read from Mel’s perspective the way she seen everything as music and noise, I really found it fascinating. An amazing story and one I would read again. 


Author
Comment by Aoife Marie Sheridan on April 12, 2013 at 5:19pm

Dream Student

 

I am rating this book with four stars.

www.reviewoffantasy.com

(3rd Book for April)

 

Firstly I must note that the cover in no way reflects the actual story, it looks like a children’s book and what a shame, I can only imagine more people pass this book because of its cover I would. But I was asked to review it for my honest opinion and I am glad that I was.

The story is told through the eyes of Sara, a young twenty year old med student. She starts by having dreams some just a fantasy about a boy she has never met, but she soon comes to meet him. Some of her dreams are much more gruesome which are actual murders, and sometimes she sees other people’s dreams. But all Sara’s dreams are linked to reality which she soon finds out.  

 Sara is a very likeable character and easy to relate too. This book is far more like a thriller then fantasy and not something I would normally pick up, but I must admit I truly enjoyed it. It was a well thought out book, with a great plot that kept you guessing to the end also this book has a beautiful love story that blossoms throughout it.

This is part of a series and one that I will to continue to read.

 

A well written book that I would highly recommend.



Author
Comment by Aoife Marie Sheridan on April 10, 2013 at 3:33pm

The call of Agon

I am rating this book 4 stars

(2nd book for April)

www.reviewoffantasy.com

 

Firstly I was given this book for an honest review.

 

This is not my usual type of book to read, yes I love fantasy but I am more of a Maria. V Snyder type of girl.

The story is told through the eyes of Ifferon who is the last in the bloodline of the god Telm. The God Telm banished the Beast of Agon to the underworld. This leaves Ifferon with one destiny, which is too make sure Agon stays in the underworld, and to help him, Telm leaves him a scroll.

Danger lurks around every corner for Ifferon making his journey hard but he meets people along the way that he be-friends that makes it that bit easier.

 His Journey through the world of Iraldas that the author has created is beautifully done, the description throughout the book has you almost feeling everything, yet at times I did find it was too descriptive for my liking, but in saying that still an amazing story of a world at war and only Ifferon can stop it. Throughout the story there is poetry that the author himself wrote, a sign of a very talented person. It can get a little confusing with all the different names of gods and places, but the story I could still grasp.

 

All in all, I have never read a book like this before, the English in it flows beautifully and has an old tongue to it, the author put a lot of hard work into it, and should be recognised for an amazing first book. I would highly recommend this book.

 

 


Author
Comment by Aoife Marie Sheridan on April 1, 2013 at 3:04pm

Review of Gemini of Emreiana By Kristen DaRay (1st review for April) Rating 4 stars www.reviewoffantasy.com I received this book for an honest review. This story is told through the eyes of Carson a young 18 year old. She lives in a small town in Alice and lives a normal life. Until she finds out she’s from another planet called Emreiana, where she will take the throne and bond with a fellow Gemini in marriage. The story is based on Earth letting us see Carson discover who she really is, and understanding that she must let go of all she loves including her boyfriend Klye, But Aaronmon a protector of the royal family is there to ease her transition. Even though the story is based on earth, it’s still very intriguing we learn all about the new planet Emreiana, they have their own language and are very advanced in technology. Also the people of Emreiana are born with certain gifts that fall’s into four categories. The world of Emreiana sounds so beautiful with its three moons that dictate’s the time of year. The story is very well written and I can’t wait to read the second book, which will be based in Emreiana and we can start to see Carson in her true settings.


Author
Comment by Aoife Marie Sheridan on March 29, 2013 at 7:03pm

Review of the House on Blackstone Moor

Rating 3 stars

www.reviewoffantasy.com

 

 

The Story is told through the eyes of Rose, a damaged young lady in her twenties, abused at the hands of the people she trusts the most.

After coming home to find her family dead, she is whisked off to an asylum, where Doctor Bannion takes her under his wing and secures a job for at the house on Blackstone Moor. Her duties at the house are to take care of Ada and Simon the children of Mr and Mrs Darton.

Half way through the book you get the idea that something sinister is happening at the house, but once you reach the half-way point the book goes into full throttle.

I have spent all day trying to think of how to explain this book, as I have never read one quite like it. It’s told through the eyes of Rose but she is speaking to the reader at times saying things like “Bear with me” and “We will learn more about that later in the story” It is an unusual way of writing, one I have never encountered before, different but not off putting.

Anyway to explain the story it’s evil to its core. My stomach turned so much reading this book that it’s not for the light hearted ( like myself, I have a very weak stomach). It’s a book of incest, rape, abuse, lies, betrayals, murder and sadness so so much sadness.

 

It reminds me of the taker, but on a much heavier scale. Perfectly written, the story held my interest but when it was gruesome, it was gruesome.

 

 


Author
Comment by Aoife Marie Sheridan on March 25, 2013 at 2:44pm

Review of Darkness of Light

www.reviewoffantasy.com

I am rating this book with 5 stars (9th review for March)
I received this book for an honest review. I had 90% read in six hours, but at 2am in the morning and work at 8 I had to peel myself away from the screen. But I finished it the next morning. And what a story it was. This book reminds me of Iron King only on a much cooler and grown-up scale.

Ember has such a dry and sarcastic sense of humour that I laughed through so much of this book. She was no damsel in distress, and could hold her own. There were so many times I smiled when she stood up to certain people, her comebacks brilliant. She has a habit of just saying what she’s thinking, really she has no filter and it’s so, so funny. Just loved her as a main character.

The love story is not your usual. Eli is harsh, bitter, and sarcastic but the two of them, together, in one place is brilliant. Between the sexual tension and dry remarks it worked like a dream.
Stories of fae can be sweet, kinda like a bed time story, but Darkness to Light in no bed-time story quite the opposite.

This is story telling with a new kind of twist on it.

Just Brilliant. Loved it.


Author
Comment by Aoife Marie Sheridan on March 22, 2013 at 2:07pm

Review of Inquest (Part one in the destroyer Trilogy) Author Del Sheree Gladden

 (8th Review for March)

I rated this book with five stars

 

I was given this book for an honest review. www.reviewoffantasy.com

 

I loved every second of this book and now I am a fan.

 

Libby a young sixteen year old anxiously awaits her inquest, to see what her talents are. In total there are seven; Speed, Strength, Perception, Spiritualism, Vision, Naturalism and Concealment. Normally you receive between one and three which is average, but Libby has known for a long time that she has all seven, which you would think would be awesome. Hmmm, no, too have all seven means you’re the destroyer a title that comes with a penalty – death.

This book got my attention from page one all the way to page 378 now I want book two. Loved Libby, I laughed at her sarcastic attitude throughout the book her optimism after losing everything was amazing.

My favourite is the love triangle between Lance her x-boyfriend and Milo the strange guy. By the end of the book she has to pick one, it’s not the end of this triangle. Don’t want to say too much or I’ll spoil it.

 

Overall a great read. I finished it in a day and a half but would have read it quicker only for life’s interferences (work). I cannot wait for book 2. I would like to thank the author for allowing me to review her book, I truly enjoyed every second of it. 


Author
Comment by Aoife Marie Sheridan on March 20, 2013 at 5:15pm

I am rating Eternal Lovers with three stars. Here is my reivew. I'm not in the habit of reading steamy light paranormal. I found Eternal Lovers interesting with lots of adventure and surprises along the way. Jennifer is born with some unusual talents which she inherited from the father she never knew. She can read the thoughts and communicate with animals as well as see peoples past lives. The story starts off when she’s a child being raised by her grandparents, but the story fast forwards to the present. Jennifer is twenty four and married to her long term friend Bill by the second chapter. While taking a vacation to see her best friend Alice she becomes increasingly attracted to Gabriel, a dark and mysterious man. By this time the reader knows Gabriel is much more than a man. He is an immortal alien who is over five thousand years old. He and his companions came to Earth to save the human race. When her feelings for Gabriel reach a boiling point, she leaves to return to her husband... being unfaithful is not something she would do. But what she finds shatters her world. The love story between her and Gabriel develops and is steamy to the bitter end.


Author
Comment by Aoife Marie Sheridan on March 18, 2013 at 12:40pm

review of Seekers of the stone (6th book for March)

I am rating this book five stars 

Review of;  Seekers of the Stone.

 

 

Where to begin, this story is fantasy/Sci-fi and the tale is woven through facts and fiction, an elaborate tale of the end of the world as we know it, only to be stopped by information that was laid out and hidden from people of the past.

 

The story is mainly told through the eyes of Saira a young seeker who can revisit past lives and shape shift. Seekers are few on earth and their existence are kept secret. Saira is living in a world where the weather rages uncontrollably destroying much of the earth, it’s set in Alaska 2252, she has been given the impossible mission of seeking knowledge about the Mayan calendar that held the truth about past, present and future events that would occur.

 

In other to save the world she must find the calendar and decipher the code to save the earth. But as always it’s a puzzle of putting past with present unearthing secret scrolls, finding stones that can take you anywhere in the past, hidden caves and unearthing buried treasure.

It’s woven beautifully and makes you think, could these facts possibly be true is there so much more to our existence. It’s an amazing story that I know will linger with for a long time, and one of those books that I will read again. The story is jammed packed with information yet easy to follow and fast paced. There is a love story throughout the book, and a story of family and friendship.

 

I would highly recommend this, hence why I gave it five stars. If I had to use one word to describe this book it would be that it’s a masterpiece.

 

Well done A.K. Hawing, what a wonderful story.

 
 
 

Need help?

Badge

Loading…

© 2014   Created by Tarah Theoret.   Powered by

Badges  |  Report an Issue  |  Terms of Service