Review - Tales of Tremora: The Shimmering

Tales of Tremora: The Shimmering
Written & Illustrated by: William Westwood, Jr.
Publisher: Book Publishers Network
Pub. Date: May 6, 2011
ISBN: 978-1935359791
ASIN: B005C2CLYO
Pages: 331

Review:

In the tradition of The Chronicles of Narnia, The Harry Potter franchise, and the Lord of the Rings, comes the award-winning first book in Tales of Tremora series titled The Shimmering. 

Exactly one year to the date, Michael's father, a forest ranger, went into the forest close to their house and mysteriously disappeared. The authorities did everything they could, but there wasn't any evidence to his disappearance. It was just like he went "Poof" and he was magically gone. 

On his fourteenth birthday, Michael went into the forest, just like his father did, and without realizing it, he steps into another world called Tremora, where he meets a strange individual calling himself Tracker. It seems this person was more than aware that Michael would appear into Tremora. As he is led deeper into the stranger land, he meets other odd characters, such as Wazalops and wizards.

There is good and evil living in Tremora and Michael will encounter both as he learns of why he brought there. And he may find the answer to the question that has been on his mind for an entire year. What happened to his father?

I had received Tales of Tremora last month courtesy of the author in exchange for my honest review. Over the last three years, I have had the chance to read many great and not so great books by independent authors. The majority of books aimed toward young adults involve vampires, werewolves and other nightly creatures, so I was pleasantly surprised to learn that The Shimmering is based on an original concept and does not use themes that have been done to death. Readers of all ages will instantly like the main character, Michael, as he journeys through the land of Tremora in search of what happened to his father. Along the way he encounters many quirky characters. The author, William Westwood, Jr., has created a delightful world that makes the readers use their imagination. The characters are loveable, the plot is well written, and the dialogue is sharp. Overall, I enjoyed stepping into Tremora and I recommend it to all readers.

Views: 13

Comment

You need to be a member of Book Blogs to add comments!

Join Book Blogs

Need help?

Badge

Loading…

RSS

NetGalley is a proud sponsor of the PW Librarians’ Lounge at BEA!

Attention librarians attending BookExpo America! Have you heard about the Publishers Weekly BEA Librarians’ Lounge (booth R420)? Take a moment to relax with complimentary refreshments, meet featured authors, and enjoy exclusive programming, including presentations, special galley giveaways (print and digital), raffles, tech demos, author chats, and meet and greets with PW editors—all courtesy of the […]

The UK’s Top Ten Books… Coming in June 2015

The UK’s Top Ten Books… Coming in June 2015 As we move towards summer, publishers are spicing up their lists with some early beach reads. Not that beach-reading has to be just for blockbusters; getting some quality time to read without interruption is perfect for all kinds of books – and this month’s selection is […]

Blogger Spotlight – Stacy Alesi’s BookBitch.com

Blog name: Stacy Alesi’s BookBitch.com Blog URL: http://stacyalesi.comYour name: Stacy AlesiCan you explain the different features of BookBitch.com and what genres you primarily focus on?There are two primary features; reviews and giveaways. I personally review mostly crime fiction, romance, books that appeal to book clubs, and cookbooks. I also cover food writing, occasional memoirs, sci-fi, […]

© 2015   Created by Tarah Theoret.   Powered by

Badges  |  Report an Issue  |  Terms of Service