Review - Tales of Tremora: The Shimmering

Tales of Tremora: The Shimmering
Written & Illustrated by: William Westwood, Jr.
Publisher: Book Publishers Network
Pub. Date: May 6, 2011
ISBN: 978-1935359791
Pages: 331


In the tradition of The Chronicles of Narnia, The Harry Potter franchise, and the Lord of the Rings, comes the award-winning first book in Tales of Tremora series titled The Shimmering. 

Exactly one year to the date, Michael's father, a forest ranger, went into the forest close to their house and mysteriously disappeared. The authorities did everything they could, but there wasn't any evidence to his disappearance. It was just like he went "Poof" and he was magically gone. 

On his fourteenth birthday, Michael went into the forest, just like his father did, and without realizing it, he steps into another world called Tremora, where he meets a strange individual calling himself Tracker. It seems this person was more than aware that Michael would appear into Tremora. As he is led deeper into the stranger land, he meets other odd characters, such as Wazalops and wizards.

There is good and evil living in Tremora and Michael will encounter both as he learns of why he brought there. And he may find the answer to the question that has been on his mind for an entire year. What happened to his father?

I had received Tales of Tremora last month courtesy of the author in exchange for my honest review. Over the last three years, I have had the chance to read many great and not so great books by independent authors. The majority of books aimed toward young adults involve vampires, werewolves and other nightly creatures, so I was pleasantly surprised to learn that The Shimmering is based on an original concept and does not use themes that have been done to death. Readers of all ages will instantly like the main character, Michael, as he journeys through the land of Tremora in search of what happened to his father. Along the way he encounters many quirky characters. The author, William Westwood, Jr., has created a delightful world that makes the readers use their imagination. The characters are loveable, the plot is well written, and the dialogue is sharp. Overall, I enjoyed stepping into Tremora and I recommend it to all readers.

Views: 15


You need to be a member of Book Blogs to add comments!

Join Book Blogs

Need help?





At NetGalley, we like to take a moment at Thanksgiving to thank you for your loyalty and support. We are grateful to have a dedicated community of Book Advocates who love reading and recommending – you truly help new books succeed! By the end of this year, your enthusiasm for reading & recommending will mean […]

Blogger Spotlight – Romance Edition

Blog name: Straight Shootin’ Book Reviews Blog URL: http://www.straightshootinbookreviews.comYour name: Mandy – Str8shooterMLet’s begin with your blogger origin story - how long have you been blogging about books and why did you start?I’ve been blogging for almost two and a half years, which is really hard to believe. It all started in March of 2012 […]

Cover Love – November Edition

November Edition We’ve rounded up five covers we love, and we hope you will too. We’ve also gathered all of your cover votes from this month, and your most loved cover is… THE PASSENGER by Lisa Lutz! Click on each cover to read the full description, request the title, and “Like” the cover if you […]

© 2015   Created by Tarah Theoret.   Powered by

Badges  |  Report an Issue  |  Terms of Service