Review - Tales of Tremora: The Shimmering

Tales of Tremora: The Shimmering
Written & Illustrated by: William Westwood, Jr.
Publisher: Book Publishers Network
Pub. Date: May 6, 2011
ISBN: 978-1935359791
Pages: 331


In the tradition of The Chronicles of Narnia, The Harry Potter franchise, and the Lord of the Rings, comes the award-winning first book in Tales of Tremora series titled The Shimmering. 

Exactly one year to the date, Michael's father, a forest ranger, went into the forest close to their house and mysteriously disappeared. The authorities did everything they could, but there wasn't any evidence to his disappearance. It was just like he went "Poof" and he was magically gone. 

On his fourteenth birthday, Michael went into the forest, just like his father did, and without realizing it, he steps into another world called Tremora, where he meets a strange individual calling himself Tracker. It seems this person was more than aware that Michael would appear into Tremora. As he is led deeper into the stranger land, he meets other odd characters, such as Wazalops and wizards.

There is good and evil living in Tremora and Michael will encounter both as he learns of why he brought there. And he may find the answer to the question that has been on his mind for an entire year. What happened to his father?

I had received Tales of Tremora last month courtesy of the author in exchange for my honest review. Over the last three years, I have had the chance to read many great and not so great books by independent authors. The majority of books aimed toward young adults involve vampires, werewolves and other nightly creatures, so I was pleasantly surprised to learn that The Shimmering is based on an original concept and does not use themes that have been done to death. Readers of all ages will instantly like the main character, Michael, as he journeys through the land of Tremora in search of what happened to his father. Along the way he encounters many quirky characters. The author, William Westwood, Jr., has created a delightful world that makes the readers use their imagination. The characters are loveable, the plot is well written, and the dialogue is sharp. Overall, I enjoyed stepping into Tremora and I recommend it to all readers.

Views: 15


You need to be a member of Book Blogs to add comments!

Join Book Blogs

Need help?




Blogger Spotlight – New Adult Edition

Blog name: Book Briefs Blog URL: http://bookbriefs.netYour name: Michelle @ Book BriefsLet’s begin with your blogger origin story - how long have you been blogging about books and why did you start?I started blogging in February of 2011, so we are almost at 5 years now… believe it or not! When I was in my […]

Top Ten UK Books… coming in November 2015

Top Ten UK Books… coming in November 2015 The last Books of the Month to feature titles solely from 2015 is upon us – it’s amazing how quickly time flies, especially when the books are as good as they have been this year. This month sees a fiction-heavy selection, with old and new names jockeying […]

Blogger Spotlight – Sci-Fi & Fantasy Edition

Blog name: Blog URL: http://scifichick.comYour name: Angela aka “TheSciFiChick”Let’s start with your origin story - how long have you been blogging about Sci-Fi & Fantasy, books in particular, and why did you start?This coming February, (in its current form) will be 11 years old. It’s probably closer to 15 years that I’ve been […]

© 2015   Created by Tarah Theoret.   Powered by

Badges  |  Report an Issue  |  Terms of Service